SFMS
Search


Home

SFMS
Path: Home>Products>Transient Suppression Units


AMETEK transient suppressor units limit the amount of electrical energy which can enter the fuel tank wiring, while passing low level signals without distortion. They facilitate compliance with SFAR 88 by limiting opportunities for electrical arcing even in the event of multiple failures. Wires leading to fuel quantity probes, densitometers, fuel temperature sensors, and fuel level switches are protected.

The unit protects against lightning induced transients per DO-160D category A4C4 and “hot shorts” to 28 VDC or 115V 400Hz power wiring. Output current is limited to 20 mA. Output voltage is limited to ± 20V.

Electronic switches within the transient suppressor unit allow high or low fuel level switches to function as low power control devices. This feature eliminates the need to run 28 VDC power into the tank. 
Tank Wall Mounted

Transient Suppressor Unit Datasheet
Construction and Installation 

The transient suppressor unit mounts on the outside tank wall. It is suitable for installation in nonpressurized and noncontrolled temperature locations. A feed through connector carries the electrical signals into the tank. The connector is hermetically sealed to prevent fuel leakage. The unit must be grounded by faying surface bond or a ground strap.

The unit contains passive circuit elements which are optimized to operate with AMETEK sensors. All components are suitably derated. Circuits are designed to have benign failure modes (loss of signal rather than loss of protection). Most failures can be detected by built-in-test (BIT) of the associated signal processor. 

Custom Designs 

Both the physical package and the protective circuits can be readily tailored for specific aircraft applications. AMETEK draws upon a wide range of system interface experience to develop and certify custom designs.
Regional Sales Manager
US Northeast / South America
(CT, MA, ME, RI, VT)
Mark Samways 
mark.samways@ametek.com
Tel: +1-978-430-7129


US East / Canada
(DE, MD, NJ, NY, PA, VA, WV) 
Russ Magazzu 
russ.magazzu@ametek.com
Tel: +1-610-370-1689
US Southeast
(AL, AR, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN) 
Kevin Rodgers 
kevin.rodgers@ametek.com
Tel: +1-770-714-9805
US Upper Midwest
(IL, IN, IA, KY, MI, MN, MO, OH, WI, WV) 
Simon Small 
simon.small@ametek.com
Tel: +1-978-821-5710
US Midwest
(KS, OK, NE, ND, SD, TX)
Glenn Kidd
glenn.kidd@ametek.com
Tel: +1-319-213-6077 

US West
(AL, AR, CA, CO, ID, MT, NM, NV, OR, UT, WA, WY)
Tim Murphy
tim.murphy@ametek.com
Tel: +1-949-388-3648
Europe, Middle East, Africa
Joe Winnay
joe.winnay@ametek.com
Tel: +1-267-933-2161

Asia Pacific
Jing Jing Wang
jing.jing.wang@ametek.com.sg
Tel: +65 6484 2388
+65 9831 0434

Aftermarket / MRO
Dales Gobeille
dale.gobeille@ametek.com
Tel: +1-267-933-2161
Global Distribution Sales Manager
Paul West
paul.west@ametek.com
Tel: +1-781-988-4235
About Us - Data Sheets - News & Events - Contact Us - Service Center
©Copyright 2012 AMETEK, Inc. All Rights Reserved
privacy policy - trademarks - sitemap